Asian Pacific Endodontic Confederation



Dr Nobuyuki Tani-Ishii Secretary APEC 82 Inaoka-cho, Yokosuka Kanagawa, Japan Tel: +81 46 829527 Email: <u>n.ishii@kdu.ac.jp</u>

Minutes of the 18th Biennial General Meeting of APEC May 8th 2021, GMT 11:00- 13:30, ON LINE

1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at GMT 11:00 by the President Dr. Mehmet Baybora Kayahan

2. Roll call

Attendance was called by member society and name of officers and councilors or representatives from the 23 member countries.

Member societies (Alphabetical order):							
Australia,	Bangladesh,	*Cambodia,	Egypt,	*Hong Kong,			
India,	Iran,	Iraq,	Japan,	Jordan,			
Korea,	Lebanon,	Malaysia,	Nepal	*Philippines,			
*Saudi Arabia,	*Singapore,	*Syria,	Taiwan,	Thailand,			
Turkey,	UAE,	USA					
* not renewed for the 2019-2021 period							

3. Apologies

Treasurer Dr. James Brichko and Councilor Hassan AbuMaizar from Jordan apologised for their abesences. (New Treasurer Dr. Francis Chan nominated to join & Dr. Muna Al-Ali joined on behalf of Jordan).

4. Confirmation of the Minutes

Confirmation of the Minutes of the 17th Biennial General Meeting, which was held on 26th April 2019 at 5:00pm in RoomVenue, Fairmont Quasar Hotel, Istanbul, Turkey.

The president stated that the minutes had been posted in the APEC website and circulated to all members and hence the meeting accepted that the Minutes be considered as having been read. There were no comments/suggestions or matters that needed discussion form the minutes.

A motion was moved to accept these Minutes as a true and accurate record of that meeting – proposed by Dr. Nobuyuki Tani-Ishii (APEC Secretary), seconded by Dr. Sanjay Miglani (Immediate Past President) and was accepted unanimously.

5. Membership

The Secretary reported that APEC has 7 honorary life members, and 23 organizational members.

Honorary life members:		
Dr. John Booth (Dec),	Dr. Ernesto R Vizcarra (Dec),	
Prof. Paul V Abbott,	Prof. Mahmoud Torabinejad,	
Prof. Syngcuk Kim,	Prof. Hideaki Suda,	Prof. Sung Kyo Kim

Countries who have not yet paid their membership subscription (period 2019-2021)

- members awaiting renewal/payment: Cambodia, Hong Kong, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Syria
- New Treasure will contact the member for renewal and ask for the period 2021-2023.

6. Constituation revision and/or clarification

No specific corrections for the Constitution were suggested.

New Bylaws drafted by Immediate Past President Dr. Sanjay Miglani and President-elect Dr.

Henry KIM explained the draft of Bylaws #1 to #10.

Minor revisions were suggested and accepted by the council.

A motion was moved to accept the Bylaws after revision by the officers.

All members present at meeting were all in favour to accept the Bylaws with no opposition.

The new Bylaws are considered to be in affect from 8th May, 2021.

7. Reports

All the reports noted below were circulated by email before the Online BGM and Australian

Report was circulated by email after BGM.

- President's report
- Immedicate Past President's report
- Secretary's report
- Treasurer's report and Financial statement
- Educational committee report
- International Outreach Committee
- Member countries' reports: Iran / Egypt / Australia

A motion was moved to accept and was accepted unanimously.

8. Election of Office bearers and Councilors

- A. Nominations have been received and circulated to all members. The following have been duly proposed for the listed positions.
 - President, Hyeon-Cheol Henry KIM (Automatically proceeded)
 - Immidiate Past-President: Mehmet Baybora Kayahan (Automatically proceeded)
 - Treasurer: Francis Chan (Australia)

A motion was moved to accept the new Treasurer and was accepted unanimously.

B. There were three nominations for the President-elect: nominations: Walid Nehme (Lebanon) / Mohammad Hossein Nekoofar (Iran) / Samuel O. Dorn (USA)

After hearing each nominee's speech, voting was done using the online system of "electionrunner" operated by President, Dr. Kayahan and declared Dr. Samuel O. Dorn as new President-elect.

C. There were three nominations for the Secretary from Iran, Taiwan and Turkey. nominations: Mohsen Ramazani (Iran) / Ming-Gene Tu (Taiwan) / Handan Ersev (Turkey) After hearing each nominee's speech and withdrawal of Dr. Tu, voting was done using the online system of "electionrunner" operated by President, Dr. Kayahan and declared Dr. Mohsen Ramazani as new Secretary.

D. Chair Educational committee: Sanjay Miglani (Immediate past president) was appointed by the officers considering the previous APEC tradition and automatically proceeded. This term is limited only for one term according to the new ByLaws activated by this BGM.

E. Chair International Outreach committee: Muna Al-Ali (The former Chair) was appointed by the officers for the second term. This term will be the last term according to the new ByLaws activated by this BGM.

F. All the Councillors nominated from each member countres were accepted as follow:

Anil Kohli (India)	/	Hidefumi Maeda (Japan)
Sung-Chin Hsieh (Taiwan)	/	SM Abdulquaderruble (Bangladesh)
Mohammad Hossein Nekofar ((Iran)	/ Rashid Alabed (UAE)
Kyung-San Min (Korea)	/	Suman Gautam (Nepal)
Handan Ersev (Turkey)	/	Kai Ling Siew (Malaysia)
Carla Zogheib (Lebanon)	/	Ahmed Abdel Rahman Hashem (Egypt)
Hassan AbuMaizar (Jordan)		

In case member societies did not nominate councilor, the registered councilor for previous term recognized as the council. Motion was moved to accept this and was accepted unanimously.

9. Election of Honorary Auditors

Hon. Auditors: : Chen Gin (Taiwan, to Continue) / Ibrahim Abu-Tahun (Jordan) Motion was moved to accept this and was accepted unanimously.

10. Election of Honorary Members and Honorary Life Members

Dr. Henry Kim nominated Dr. Ibrahim Abu-Tahun (Jordan) for Honorary Life Members considering his dedication during his Presidency and Chairperson of Education Committee for two terms.

11. Announcement of 2021 APEC Congress in Lebanon and 2023 Congress in Taiwan

11.1. Dr. Walid Nehme reported the progress of organizing 2021 Beirut Lebanon 21st Congress. It is postponed to September, 2021 due to the pandemic outbreak and will be informed with the detail using flyer at the ealiest and website is under construction at this moment.

11.2. Dr. MG Tu reported the progress of organizing 2023 Taiwan 22^{nd} APEC Congress. The congress dates were informed as September $9^{th} - 11^{th}$ at the Venue of NTUH(National Taiwan University Hospital) international Convention Center, Taipei.

12. BIDS for 23rd APEC Conference 2025

The Bids for 2025 Congress was arrived from 4 member societies: Bangladesh, Korea, UAE and Iran. Iran & Korea withdraw from this bid and two societies presented their plan and wishes.

Voting was done using the online system of "electionrunner" operated by President, Dr. Kayahan and declared to have 23rd APEC Congress at Bangladesh in 2025.

13. Next Meeting (in 2023)

The next biennial general meeting will be held in Taiwan during 22nd Scientific Congress.

14. Closure of meeting

Greetings from the New President Dr. Hyeon-Cheol Henry KIM.

Dr Nobuyuki Tani-Ishii Secretary APEC